Eatin’ Green and Lovin’ it!

Standard

I have lived in Kitchener for almost three years.  When I first moved here, one of my favorite things was how close we were to St.Jacob’s Market.  It was exciting to me that if we so chose, we could purchase Ontario grown goodness in our own backyard. What I didn’t know about was The Kitchener Market.  Well boy oh boy, let me tell you… A-MAZ-ING!

I recently started eating a diet consisting of mostly raw foods.  I have been saying and have heard others say that it costs more money to eat healthy foods.   I will say “on the record” (although i’m not sure which record) that I discovered this to be very untrue yesterday. My hubby and I went to the market to see how far we could stretch 30 dollars.  I was, and still am, blown away at how much we got.

Here it is, just to illistrate the point to all of you guys and gals who may want to know just how much 30 bucks will actually get you.
2 bunches of organic Kale
1 bunch of organic beets
Organic carrots
3 pineapples
3 bunches of asparagus
1 large basket of peppers
1 basket of pears
1 basket of apples
15 tomatoes
15 mini zucchini
1 bunch of celery
4 cucumbers.

By the end of our shopping experience, our double stroller was packed with more than babies. I was also aware first hand of the benefits of supporting local farmers selling Ontario grown foods.  There were no “food like products” for sale at those tables.  Just wonderful, fresh, locally grown food.

It’s official. I want to be Mrs. Farmer Brown.

About ladywicks

I'm a woman in my 30's and unlike many women my age, I LOVE being in my 30's. What you see is what you get with me. This is all about my life-about marriage, raising children, attempting to have a career that doesn't include diaper changes and report cards, and trying my best just to get through it all one day after another. If you think it seems boring-JUST READ. I guarantee you that it will seem more like a three-ring circus than any experience that you would have "Under the Big Top". No sugar coating, no editing designed to make me seem like the mom and wife of the year.... just my life. And I wouldn't trade it for the world.

Leave a Reply

